Afro-ducation

I removed my chemically processed hair this year in March, up until very recently, my natural hair felt and looked great. It was only in the latter part of May that it began feeling and looking otherwise and I’ve been wondering why, and what new methods I should start applying to combat the problem. It finally dawned on me that it is officially winter and THAT’S why my hair is so “unhappy.”

Before you judge my Afro-blondness, let me give you background on the distant relationship between my hair and I: Before going natural, my hair practically belonged to the salon, I had never treated it myself before; always relying on my hairdresser to do that. Most times she would pick up on things about my hair that I, the one whom it was attached to 24/7, didn’t even notice. As far as I was concerned, all my hair needed was my hairdresser and chemicals, and I wasn’t interested in getting involved. This was not because I hated it or anything, I was just too lazy to care for it myself, and thanks to my good genes I was able to get way with this. Terrible mentality, I know. With that said, I’m pretty sure that winter has always had a negative effect on my hair; I was just oblivious to it.

When I decided to go natural, I also made the decision to stop going to the salon as often, and get into the habit of treating my hair myself; that’s why I am now conscious enough to pick up on the little things that interfere with its greatness. Listening to your hair is crucial, and I am grateful that I finally know how to. I have learnt so much about it ever since I became active in the role of nurturing it, and the experience has been both interesting and fun. Hair really does have a life of its own.

Now that I have picked up on winter’s effect on my hair, I have decided to increase the number of times I condition it in a week, and wear it in a protective style for most of the season.  These are recommendations that I have seen on many hair blogs previously, but up until now my hair was doing just fine with being conditioned only once a week and not being styled. Experience is the best teacher and I now see the proposed value of these methods. I promised myself that I would do what feels right for my hair and avoid being a sheep that simply follows what others seem to be doing, which wouldn’t make sense anyway because our genes are not the same.

With all that said, I’m not yet sure if these two proposed solutions will work for my hair, time will tell. Right now I’m just proud of the fact that I did not go running to the salon in an attempt to resolve the problem.

The learning continues…

tumblr_nopahprbi71th3rx1o1_540

Photography by BusiDh

 

Cover image externally sourced
Contact BusiDh 

					
4 thoughts on “Afro-ducation

Leave a Reply

